stories of revolution by love of neighbor

Do you ever have periods of your life that seem to blaze right by you, even though you pause to look at it in the aftermath and it seemed like an eternity? Do you ever get the sense that everything possible will probably go wrong, even though you know that realistically it would take a lot more than what has gone wrong to make everything go wrong?  Do you ever take a step back at the end of a period of your life and wonder how it all possibly happened? Welcome to my August. From Young Adult Missionary training to almost constant travel between home and Chicago to Sing A New Song to finding out that I’m probably leaving for Colombia in less than a week, it has been quite  a month.

In the past week and a half, a wise and wonderful person in my life has continually recited to me over and over and over a quote by Julian of Norwich. Now, don’t tell him this, because I don’t want him to think he was right or anything, but it has become my reassurance when things go crazy:

All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.

Now, to rehash my past month quickly so you can understand what I mean when I say that at times, my life has felt like Murphy’s Law incarnate over the past month.  My August began at the training for the United Methodist Young Adult Missionaries, including both Mission Interns (my program, 3 years, half international and half domestic) and US-2s (the other program, 2 years, all domestic). Throughout our three weeks of training (which technically began at the end of July), we had a variety of workshops to equip and prepare us for our service, from an anti-sexism and gender-based violence presentation by an awesome organization called Men Can Stop Rape to possibly the funniest presentation ever given on self-care and wellness in an international context.

While at training (all in one day, no less), I attempted to apply for my visa and was told that I had all the wrong documentation, then managed to spill an entire scalding hot cup of coffee on my wrist, then went on to get three immunizations and a TB test. Shall all be Murphy’s Law?

A little over a week ago, I was told by the Colombian Consulate in Chicago that I should have made an appointment online to apply for a visa, but that they would take my application anyway. Shall all be Murphy’s Law?

This Monday, I received my visa after an almost painless process. All shall be well.

Since training I have been in almost constant transit and effectively living out of a suitcase. Shall all be Murphy’s Law?

Though stressful, this travel has grounded me and given me an opportunity to spend time with my family, my friends in Chicago, and all my wonderful United Methodists at Sing A New Song. All shall be well.

I have entered in to difficult conversations with people in my life about how we will manage to maintain our relationships after I leave the country. Shall all be Murphy’s Law?

In the midst of these difficult conversations, I have found support and encouragement from the many brave souls in my life who have blazed the trail of long-term international travel before me, reassuring me that I will be able to find the balance between maintaining relationships in the United States and building relationships in my community in Colombia. All shall be well.

These, and many other instances, have left me with questions and answers, insights and puzzles, hopes and fears as I prepare to leave the country (recently expedited to Labor Day), but the past month has also left me with an assurance…

All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.

…May it be so.

Comments on: "All Shan’t Be Murphy’s Law and All Shall Be Well" (2)

  1. Deb Talbott said:

    And if you haven’t read the unabridged version it goes on for 16 pages of “And all shall be well…” Julian really needed to convince herself and so do I at times!!!!!! Into God’s hands, I commend thy loving spirit, body, mind and soul, knowing that even to the ends of the earth, “God is there!”

  2. You are always on my brain, my dear friend.

Leave a Reply

