stories of revolution by love of neighbor

Summer. A time for growth, a time for flourishing. Having grown up in the Midwest, summer was always the time for refreshment and nourishment by the harvests from seeds planted in the spring. This summer is somehow different, though. This is the summer during which I prepare myself to begin the newest chapters of my life.

My college graduation was in June, closing that particular chapter of my life. Those four years were a time of growth and beginnings….but just because that chapter of my life is over, does it really mean that the growth and beginnings are over?

As we prepare ourselves to part ways for the time being, I find myself saying goodbye to my college and church friends, who have been my family away from home these four years, but is it truly the end of those friendships? Rather than the end, I consider it a beginning. Of course, it is not the very beginning of those relationships, but it is a beginning for them; it is the beginning of a new chapter of the relationships, the beginning of a new texture of the relationships, the beginning of their new roles in our lives.

Likewise, I will soon receive my college diploma in the mail, and I find myself parting ways with my alma mater, but is it the end of the lessons, the growth? Again, I consider it a beginning. It is the beginning of the application of past lessons; it is the beginning of even more life lessons; it is the beginning of new types of growth. In addition, this summer marks the beginning of my new life adventures, the source of my continual growth and transformation through  experiences and relationships.

As I say my goodbyes and prepare myself for upcoming chapters of my life this summer, I must remind myself it is not a time for endings, but rather for growth and beginnings. As the autumn leaves fall from the trees to make room for the buds of spring, so too must these apparent endings come in order to make room for the new growth and beginnings.

Leave a Reply

